MARK OBERLECHNER - MAGGE

NATIONALITY: ITALIAN
DATE OF BIRTH: 02/08/1991
ACTIVITIES: ALPINE CLIMBING, SPORTCLIMBING, ICECLIMBING

BIO


Born and raised in Issing im Pustertal, I discovered my passion for climbing at around 14 years of age. I started alpine climbing that very same year and, from then on, I have been on a mission to push my physical and mental limits as far as they will go. The Dolomites are the main destination for my excursions, mountains which, for me, are particularly spellbinding. Both in summer and in winter. Rock, snow and ice make this mountain range a particular treat. I have been a certified mountain and ski guide since 2017.

Activities practiced:
After several years of ski racing and then an injury, I was looking for a new challenge, which I found in climbing. On the spur of the moment and without taking a climbing course, we headed to our lo-cal practice climbing areas/simple alpine routes and spent our time experimenting. Later on, the older climbing generation definitely shaped how my climbing progressed.
This type of sport is surely one of a kind thanks to the multitude of different disciplines it includes. Sport climbing, alpine climbing, bouldering, ice climbing or high-altitude mountaineering - all these disciplines are linked to each other and require mental and physical strength in addition to a wealth of experience.

Hobbies:
Skiing, freeriding and always climbing. ;-)

Favourite Place:
The Dolomites, Chamonix, Frankenjura, Céüse

Favourite Book:
Climbing guide books

Biggest Fear:
Too loose motivation in what I'm doing.

 

PROJECTS


First Ascent of “Borderline” - XI 250m 2015 (without Bolts)
Petit Drü “Allain Leininger” - Dez. 2017
First Ascent of “Calipé” – Peitlerkofel Nordwand 600m Jan 2019
Full Free Ascent of “Zauberlehrling” XI 600m 2019